Journal

Perpetual Monologue

Writing as myself doesn’t exactly come naturally. Whilst I have an incessant monologue in my head, pen to paper (or rather, in this case, fingers to keyboard) doesn’t quite flow as well or as fast. Overthinking is my number one pitfall. As such, these opening sentences have been reviewed, deleted and reviewed again, numerous times.

Years of academic writing has led me to be afraid to use anything but 3rd person. Writing as an anonymous being is soothing, safe and most definitely within my comfort zone. I write poetry and prose and anything that doesn’t require the words ‘I’ or ‘me’. God forbid anything I write be my own personal opinion! I’ve had too many years of being belittled and made out to be Satan incarnate for having an opinion.

Alas, I have decided that now is the time to share some of my perpetual soliloquy, if not just to save my own head from exploding, showering my surroundings with alphabet soup.

Consider this my leaping into the unknown world of writing as myself; by ‘leaping’ I mean shuffling, noncommittally into a swirling vortex of doom.
Leave a Reply

